A Poignant Pilgrimage (May-July 2024)

Starting on Saturday May 11 2024, Carli’s husband – Karl – will undertake the challenge of walking 1,000 miles around the South East of England, raising money/awareness for our Foundation and the national charity – Cardiac Risk In The Young – that we are proud to work with

The journey will last 75 days in total – 60 days of walking, and 15 “rest” days when Karl will return home to see his children Jess and Ethan – and will begin/end in Southend

The route will take Karl into London, down through Kent, along the coast to Brighton and Portsmouth, up to Reading/Oxford/Milton Keynes, before heading to the most northerly point of Norfolk and then heading back down via the coast and inland to Cambridge before finishing back in Southend on July 24 – on what would have been Karl and Carli’s 20th Wedding anniversary

This huge undertaking is being done for 3 reasons:-

  1. To do something truly amazing in memory of Carli – the most kind, caring, loving person. Her ashes will accompany Karl on the journey and will be spread at the most beautiful, poignant locations
  2. To raise awareness of our charity and CRY and highlight the tragedy of Sudden Arrhythmic Death Syndrome (SADS) and how this could possibly be avoided by a simple ECG screening
  3. To assist Karl in his continual grieving process – the walk is being designed to give him a positive to focus and something incredible to achieve

At each one of the 60 “legs” of the walk, there will be an open invitation for anyone to join Karl on the walk for any distance

Karl will also be relying on the kindness of strangers for places to stay, places to eat and places to see

For such a huge undertaking, Karl has set himself a huge target of trying to raise a minimum of £52,000 – this would enable our Foundation to host 8 screening days in a calendar year (the maximum any family can arrange with CRY) and provide 800 young people (aged 14-35) to receive a free ECG screening

A Facebook page and Instagram page will be created to document this journey (the preparation, and the actual walk)

We hope lots of people will follow this journey, either in personal or supporting us online

Confirmed dates

Saturday 11 May 2024 – DAY ONE – start point from Eastwood Community Centre, Western Approaches, Southend on Sea, Essex, SS2 6TS. The centre will be open from 7am and we will be serving tea/coffee/snacks before the walk “officially” starts at 9am. The route will take us through Belfairs Nature Reserve to Hadleigh Castle Country Park on to a long walk through Wat Tyler Country Park before finishing at Thurrock Thameside Nature Park, which will be our destination for the first day. Returning home to Southend that evening

Sunday 12 May 2024 – DAY TWO – starting from Thurrock Thameside Nature Park, the walk will pass through Orsett, Little Belhus Country Park, Cely Woods, Bonnetts Wood, Hornchurch Country Park, Bretons Park and Chase Local Nature Reserve before ending at Romford Railway Station. Returning home to Southend that evening

Monday 13 May 2024 – DAY THREE – Romford Train Station to London Liverpool Street Station – walking through Barking, East Ham, Stratford into the City to then get the train back home for the evening – estimated walking distance: 14.5 miles

Tuesday 14 May 2024 – DAY FOUR – London Liverpool Street Station to Twickenham – a bit of a tourist ‘sight-seeing’ day following the north bank of the Thames – passing through Westminster, Fulham, Hammersmith, Chiswick and Richmond – estimated walking distance: 17 miles

Wednesday 15 May 2024 – DAY FIVE – Twickenham to Orpington – following the south bank of the Thames into Kent – through Richmond Park, Wimbledon, Mitcham, Bromley and then onto Orpington (NB: A part of this section will be intercut by an underground journey across London) – estimated walking distance: 17 miles

Thursday 16 May 2024 – DAY SIX – Orpington to Snodland – Orpington, Lullingstone Country Park, Wrotham, Trottiscliffe and Birling (near Snodland) – estimated walking distance: 18 miles

Friday 17 May 2024 – DAY SEVEN – Snodland to Stanford-Le-Hope. Walking north from Snodland, passing through North/Upper Halling, Shorne Woods Country Park to Gravesend. Ferry ride over to Tilbury and through Chadwell St Mary and Thurrock Thameside Nature Park (where we also ended our first day) before heading to Stanford-Le-Hope and home for the weekend

Saturday 18 May 2024 – back home

Sunday 19 May 2024 – back home

Monday 20 May 2024 – DAY EIGHT – Starting at Strood Station at 9am, the walk will go along River Medway before heading through Borstal, Bluebell Hill, Kits Coty and Boarley before finishing the day at a hotel booked in Maidstone – estimated walking distance: 20 miles

Tuesday 21 May 2024 – DAY NINE – starting from Maidstone, the walk will follow the North Downs Way through Harrietsham, Lenham and Charing before reaching my destination for that evening – Kennington. Estimated walking distance: 17 miles

Wednesday 22 May 2023 – DAY TEN – Kennington to Canterbury – passing through Wye, Crundale, Gormersham, Chartham – estimated walking distance: 15 miles

Thursday 23 May 2024 – DAY ELEVEN – Canterbury to Stelling Minnis – a morning spent exploring Canterbury before leaving midday to pass through Bourne Park, Bishopsbourne, Kingston, Barham, Breach, Wingmore – estimated walking distance: 12 miles

Friday 24 May 2024 – DAY TWELVE – Stelling Minnis to Folkestone – passing through Rhode Minnis, Lyminge, Ethchinghill, Frogholt, – estimated walking distance: 15 miles

Saturday 25 May 2024 – back home

Sunday 26 May 2024 – back home

Monday 27 May 2024 – DAY THIRTEEN – Royal Military Canal, Kent (leg #1) – starting from Hythe – estimate walking distance: 14 miles

Tuesday 28 May 2024 – DAY FOURTEEN – Royal Military Canal, Kent (leg #2) – starting from Hamstreet – estimated walking distance: 14 miles

Wednesday 29 May – DAY FIFTEEN – Rye heading through Winchelsea, Hastings to Battle

Thursday 30 May – DAY SITEEN – Pevensey Bay to Seaford – via Eastbourne/Beachy Head/Birling Gap

Friday 31 May – DAY SEVENTEEN – Seaford to Brighton

Saturday 1 June 2024 – back home

Sunday 2 June 2024 – back home

Monday 3 June 2024 – DAY EIGHTEEN – Brighton to Littlehampton – following the coastline mainly and passing through Hove, Portslade, Shoreham-by-sea, Lancing, Worthing and Rustington – estimated walking distance: 17 miles

Tuesday 4 June 2024 – DAY NINETEEN – Littlehampton to Chichester – passing through Yapton, Eastergate, East Hampnett and Tangmere – estimated walking distance: 16 miles

Wednesday 5 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY – Chichester to Portsmouth – passing through Fishbourne, Emsworth, Langstone Harbour arriving in Portsmouth that evening – estimated walking distance: 19 miles

Thursday 6 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-ONE – Portsmouth to Wickham. The morning will be spent exploring Portsmouth and the Naval Dockyard. After lunch, the walk will pass through Fareham and end in Wickham – estimated walking distance: 14 miles

Friday 7 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-TWO – Wickham to Winchester. Walking through Bishop’s Waltham and then across South Downs onto Winchester Station to get a train to London before heading home that evening – estimated walking distance: 17 miles

Saturday 8 June 2024 – back home

Sunday 9 June 2024 – back home (Southend Half-Marathon)

Monday 10 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-THREE: Winchester – Basingstoke. Estimated mileage: 20 miles

Tuesday 11 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-FOUR: Basingstoke – Frimley. Estimated mileage: 19 miles

Wednesday 12 June 2024 DAY TWENTY-FIVE: Frimley – Windsor (my birthplace). Estimated walking distance: 18 miles

Thursday 13 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-SIX: Windsor to Henley-on-Thames. Following the Thames Path. Estimated mileage: 20 miles

Friday 14 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-SEVEN: Henley-on-Thames to Watlington

Saturday 15 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY-EIGHT: Watlington to Oxford

Sunday 16 June 2024 – day in Oxford

Monday 17 June 2024 – DAY TWENTY NINE: Oxford – Tingewick

Tuesday 18 June 2024 – DAY THIRTY: Tingewick – Litchborough

Wednesday 19 June 2024-Friday 21 June 2024 – DAYS THIRTY-ONE-THIRTY-THREE: Litchborough – Northampton – Wellingborough – Thrapston

Saturday 22 June 2024 – back home

Sunday 23 June 2024 – DAY THIRTY-FOUR: Thrapston to Yaxley – estimated walking distance: 15 miles (NB: this route has been kindly planned by a Facebook follower, and keen hiker, Caroline Heath)

Monday 24 June 2024-Thursday 27 June 2024 – DAYS THIRTY-FIVE TO THIRTY-EIGHT: Yaxley – Peterborough – Wisbech – King’s Lynn – Hunstanton – estimated walking distance over these 4 days: 61 miles

Friday 28 June 2024 – back home

Saturday 29 June 2024 – back home

Sunday 30 June 2024- DAY THIRTY-NINE: Hunstanton to Holkham Park. Estimated walking distance: 16 miles

Monday 1 July 2024 – DAY FORTY: Wells-next-the-Sea to Sheringham. Estimated walking distance: 18 miles

Tuesday 2 July – Friday 5 July 2024 – DAYS FORTY-ONE TO FORTY-FOUR: Sheringham, Cromer, Keswick, Eccles on Sea before reaching Caister-on-Sea and heading inland through Acle and Brundall before reaching Norwich – estimated walking distance over these 4 days: 52 miles

Saturday 6 July 2024 – back home

Sunday 7 July 2024 and Monday 8 July 2024 – DAYS FORTY-FIVE AND FORTY-SIX: Norwich to Gorleston – Sunday morning will be spent exploring Norwich before heading to Gorleston over next 2 days (via Great Yarmouth). Estimated walking distance over these 2 days: 25 miles

Tuesday 9 July 2024 – Gorleston to Kessingland – DAY FORTY-SEVEN – along Norfolk/Suffolk coastline – estimated walking distance: 18 miles

Wednesday 10 July 2024-Friday 12 July 2024 – DAYS FORTY-EIGHT TO DAYS FIFTY – Kessingland to Ipswich – via Southwold, Middleton, Saxmundham, Benhall Green, Marlesford, Wickham Market, Woodbridge before ending the week in Ipswich – estimated walking distance over these 3 days: 40 miles

Saturday 13 July 2024 – back home

Sunday 14 July 2024 – back home

Monday 15 July – DAY FIFTY-ONE: Ipswich to Stowmarket. Estimated walking distance: 17 miles

Tuesday 16 July – DAY FIFTY-TWO: Stowmarket to Bury St Edmunds. Estimated walking distance: 16.6 miles

Wednesday 17 July – DAY FIFTY-THREE: Bury St Edminds to Newmarket. Estimated walking distance: 15 miles

Friday 18 July to Wednesday 24 July – DAYS FIFTY-FOUR TO SIXTY: Newmarket, Cambridge, Saffron Walden, Great Dunmow, Braintree, Hatfield Peveral, Maldon, Burnham, South Woodham Ferrers, Wickford and finishing at Roots Hall, Southend United

(DISCLAIMER: These final 10 days could be subject to major alterations dependent upon the mileage covered up to this leg. Whatever the plans are for this stage, the walk/pilgrimage will definitely end on 24 July 2024 (on what would have been Karl and Carli’s 20th Wedding Anniversary)

Wednesday 24 July 2024 – DAY SIXTY – end point at Southend United, Roots Hall Stadium (3pm)